top of page

Directors Lab West 2003


May 17 – 24, 2003



Creators and Collaborators

Core Text: 
Our Town
by Thorton Wilder


DLW 2003 Program

Photos, Videos & More Coming Soon!

DLW 2003 Quote Book

Directors Lab West 2003 was produced by the Steering Committee, in association with Pasadena Playhouse and Boston Court Performing Arts Center.


Special financial support for Directors Lab West has been received from the Stage Directors & Choreographers Society.


_ _ _ 



Producing Steering Committee


Nick D'Abruzzo, Founder

Ernest Figueroa, Founder

Kappy Kilburn, Founder

Andrew Sachs, Founder


Production Coordinator


Jessica Bard




Simon Burzynski

Travis Hammer

Todd Kulczyk

Marah Morris




"Creators and Collaborators" LAB 2003 - Directors Lab West 2003 was held from Saturday, May 17 through Saturday, May 24, 2003, at Pasadena Playhouse and the Boston Court Performing Arts Center. The theme for 2003 was "Creators and Collaborators" and we workshopped, discussed and developed new ideas for collaboration with other artists. Notable Actors and Directors participated in these sessions and shared their experiences. Sessions and guests from the lab included: Sheldon Epps; Anne Cattaneo; "The Tempest" workshops led by Dakin Matthews and Lisa Wolpe, Andrew Barnicle, John Sylvain; Kim Weild and Suzuki/Viewpoints; George Furth, Eddie Levi Lee, Bill Rausch, Luis Alfaro, Velina Hasu Houston, David Ira Goldstein, Shirley Jo Finney, Larry Moss, and Randy Dixon. The source texts for 2003 were Shakespeare's "The Tempest" and Thornton Wilder's "Our Town.

Lab Participants


Virginia Abascal

Shango Amin

Marc Bruni

Ayanna Cahrr

Betsey Cassell

Loren E. Chadima

Mike Chamberlain

Nancy Cheryll Davis-Bellamy

Debra Deliso

Deanna Duplechain

David Fisher

David Gautschy

Chuch Harper

Elizabeth Bell

Mary Huls

Christopher Jenkins

Andy Jenson

Tanya Kane-Perry

William Katt

Leigh Kennicott

Jerry Kernion

Simon Levy

Ellen Locy

Jessie Marion

Brad McEntire

Peter McLean

BP Mendoza

Janet Miller

David Moore

Sarah O'Connell

Susan Park

Meredith Anne Patt

Sacha Reich

Stan Roth

Caprice Spenser Rothe

Jessica Sage

Marianne Savell

Rick Sparks

Ann Giselle Speigler

Ann Tracy

Michael Wallot

Mike Ward

William White

Kelly Williams

Mark Jared Zufelt


Guest Artists


Luis Alfaro
Andrew Barnicle 
Francois Bergeron
Charles Berliner
Anne Cattaneo
Leigh Curran
Randy Dixon
Bo Eason
Sheldon Epps
Francesca Faridany
Shirley Jo Finney
Brendon Fox
Pamela Gien
Taylor Gilbert
David Ira Goldstein
Darryl Hickman
Kelly Hazen
Velina Hasu Houston
Beth Hogan
John Iacovelli
John Kellam
Jessica Kubzansky
Levi Lee
Karen Lund
Dakin Matthews
Carl Mergenthaler
Larry Moss
Bill Rauch
Greg Reiner
Tony Rizzi
Gary Socol
Ron Sossi
Jenny Sullivan
John Sylvain
Stephen Wadsworth
Kate Warner
Kim Weild
Scott Whitney
Lisa Wolpe

bottom of page