top of page

Directors Lab West 2016


May 21-28, 2016



To Text or Not to Text

Core Text: 
Romeo and Juliet
by William Shakespeare


DLW 2016 Program

DLW 2016 Quote Book


Directors Lab West 2016 was produced by the Steering Committee, in association with Pasadena Playhouse, Boston Court Performing Arts Center, and Center Theatre Group.


Special financial support for Directors Lab West has been received from the Stage Directors & Choreographers Society.


_ _ _ 



Producing Steering Committee


Che'Rae Adams

Ernest Figueroa, Founder

Janet Miller

Diana Wyenn


Associate Producers


Gregg Daniel

Donna Simone Johnson

Scott Marden

Debbie McMahon

Doug Oliphant


Production Coordinators


Courtney Anne Buchan 
Julie Ouellette


"To Text or not to Text: Exploring the Sources of Storytelling and Performance" LAB 2016- Directors Lab West 2016 was held from Saturday, May 21 through Saturday, May 28, 2016, at Pasadena Playhouse, Center Theatre Group and the Boston Court Performing Arts Center. The theme for 2016 was "To Text or not to Text: Exploring the Sources of Storytelling and Performance". The text for this session was "Romeo and Juliet". Notable Actors, Directors, Designers and Choreographers participated in these sessions and shared their experiences. Guests of the 2016 Lab included: Anne Cattaneo, Luis Alfaro, David Diamond, Trefoni Rizzi, Steven Leigh Morris, Annie Saunders, Daniel Stein, Larry Carpenter, and Sheldon Epps. The SDC Open Session was a conversation with Anne Cattaneo.

Lab Participants


Roy Arauz
David Bass
Carol Becker
Fernando Belo
Suzanne Birrell
Margarita Blush
Sylvia Blush
Colette Brandenburg
Rebecca Bryant
Lyndsay Burch
Kent Burnham
Zoe Canner
Brenley Charkow
Paul Coates
Amanda Connors
Robert Decker
Amanda Grace Ewing
Matt Franta
April Ibarra
Eric Inman
Seonjae Kim
Gary Lamb
Bruce A Lemon Jr
Andy Lowe
Megan McGuane
Ryan Mekenian
Macey Mott
Jonathon Musser
Marcos Najera
Jules Odendahl-James
Rachel Park
Rennier Piñero
Louise Reichlin
Courtney Self
Courtney Sheets
Benjamin Smallen
Brianna Smith
Marike Splint
Angela Todaro
Michael Van Duzer
Beatriz Vasquez
Robin Walsh
Paul Warner
Carly Weckstein
Ryan Weible
Tracy Young

Guest Artists


Luis Alfaro
Linda Bannister, Ph.D.
Brad Beckman
David Bridel
Sheila Callaghan
Larry Carpenter
Martin Carrillo
Anne Cattaneo
David Diamond
Terra Dray
Jessica Emmanuel
Sheldon Epps
Louis Fantasia
Marcy Froehlich
Jennifer Haley
Aaron Hendry
Julianne Homokay 
Laura Karlin
Jessica Kubzansky
Karyn Lawrence
Brian Lohmann
Beth Lopes
Annie Loui
Alan Mandell
Miwa Matreyek
Debbie McMahon
Michael Michetti
Steven Leigh Morris
Dan O'Connor
Tira Palmquist
Trefoni Michael Rizzi
Paul Rogan
Anthony Runfola
Annie Saunders
Michele Spears
Daniel Stein
Matt Walker
Joann Yarrow
Steve Yockey

bottom of page