top of page

Directors Lab West 2023

May 20-27, 2023

Theatre’s Healing Effect: Catharsis and Connection

Core Text: 
For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow Is Enuf
by Ntozake Shange

DLW 2023 Program

DLW 2023 Quote Book

Directors Lab West 2018 was produced by the Steering Committee, in association with Pasadena Playhouse, Center Theatre Group, The Music Center, and Boston Court Pasadena.

Special financial support for Directors Lab West has been received from the Stage Directors & Choreographers Society.


_ _ _ 



Producing Steering Committee


Che'Rae Adams

Ernest Figueroa, Founder

Janet Miller

Debbie McMahon

Martin Jago


Associate Producers


Susan Dalian

Sheetal Gandhi

Gary Lamb

Carrie Klewin Lawrence

Emmett Murphy

Kristi Schultz

Production Coordinator

Sean Cook

Caitlin Mayernik

Volunteer Production Assistants

Haley Juenker

Kimberly Locke

Quinn Muhleck


"Our Significant Others" LAB 2018- Directors Lab West 2018 was held from Saturday, May 19 through Saturday, May 26, 2018, at Pasadena Playhouse, Center Theatre Group, The Music Center, and the Boston Court Pasadena. The theme for 2008 was "Our Significant Others". The text for this session was "Top Dog, Under Dog". Notable Actors, Directors, Designers and Choreographers participated in these sessions and shared their experiences. Guests of the 2018 Lab included: An entire panle of local theatre companies run by significan others, Vincent Paterson, Yael Pardess, Kay Cole, , Gregg T. Daniel, Evelina Fernández, Richard Montoya, David Bridel, Meredith Greenburg, Paul Zaloom, Richard Montoya,  Michael John Garcés, and Danny Feldman. The SDC Open Session was a conversation with Vincent Paterson.



Lab Participants


Shanna Beauchamp

Shalee Mae Cole Mauleón

Aurora Culver

Kaitlin Davis

Brian Fretté

Estela Garcia

Janet Hayatshahi

Kari Hayter

Tyler Richards Hewes

Grit Lukas

Allison McDonell Page

Alexandra Meda

Beth Milles

Frankie Orr

Vicki Pearlman

Deborah Rosen

Holly Rothschild

Torrey Russell

Collette Rutherford

Erin Schlabach

Dana Schwartz

Daphnie Sicre

Derek Spencer

Blayze Teicher

Katie Wampler

Tamiyka White



Guest Artists


Luis Alfaro

Randy Anderson

Angela Balogh-Calin

Carly DW Bones (DLW’16)

Jamie Carabetta

Martín Carrillo

Marissa Chibás

Erin Crites

Geoff Elliott

Danny Feldman

Dan Froot

Sheetal Ghandi (DLW’19)

Jorge Huerta

Laura Karlin (DLW’14)

Carrie Klewin Lawrence (DLW’06)

MJ Kaufman

Lily Knight

David Lee

Joyce Lu

Debbie McMahon (DLW’14)

Emmett Murphy (DLW’17)

Lindsey Nelson

Paul Rogan DLW’09)

Vincent Paterson (DLW’02)

Laura Penn

Jaymes Poling

Trefoni Rizzi

Heather Roberts

Steve Robman

Julia Rodriguez-Elliott

Pablo Santiago

Kristi Schultz (DLW’09)

Oz Scott

Faith Soloway

Joey Soloway

Tula Strong

Carolyn Surrick

Sabra Williams

Joann Yarrow (DLW’00)

bottom of page